Well guys, seeing that I have about 2 hours before the deadline for our blog posts. I guess I can’t procrastinate doing this write up any longer. The reading itself is very confusing but, i’m going to give it my best shot. So here we go!

So, as a basic understanding, I believe that the biggest difference from Web 1.0 to 2.0 is the difference in the ability of the user, rather than the ability of the creator. I personally never really used the internet before the 2004 time frame. So, I did not get much time using the Web 1.0 platform. I started using the internet when it was in the early Web 2.0 stage, i think. I ended up looking up some older pictures of websites (mainly the ones that were listed on the graph on the first page of the article). The biggest difference I noticed, was that the Web 1.0 style seemed to be more of a “here’s information, use it,” sort of feel. While now with Web 2.0 it’s more of a “Here’s a tool that you can use and change how you like it.” In fact, at this very moment I am using one of the very inventions of Web 2.0. The ability to create my own blog and post on it how ever I like without having to own my own server to do so. With Web 2.0 you have the ability to interactively use the internet. While before, all you could do was view it. This has been the biggest difference to me. This is also why the internet has become so much more widely used. Before, the only incentive to use the internet was to look up something for a project or for work. But now, the internet is used for that and so much more. It has become a place where you can loiter. Loitering’s cool, that’s why the user creation portion has grown so rapidly. The more you use it, the more you interact, the more you want to use it and the more you are going to have to use it.

That’s just my short 2 cents. Hope you enjoyed! Shinya out.

