So hey guys, I know we are supposed to do some blogs about the current topic in class. But, seeing that we really haven’t had a topic for the “State Of The Net” portion of class i’m not 100% sure what I need to be blogging about with it. So, I’m just going to ramble on about well “The State Of The Net” as I see it. Hopefully this isn’t too dreary for you.

So, where do I think the internet is at right now… that’s a really difficult question. Almost rhetorical. It’s the same as technology, we try to evaluate what state technology is in right now… then BAM! Something new comes out the next week that totally revolutionizes what we thought was even possible. You buy a new computer, a few weeks later, it’s inferior. Truly amazing how something that took literally a few thousand years to figure out has literally exploded with possibilites in a matter of 100 years or less. Looking at old computer specs is a joke. My current Mac Book Pro is not what I would consider a very powerful computer when you look at it compared to other current computers but, to computers from even 3 or 4 years ago it absolutely blows them away. I find that pretty astonishing.

The Internet is the same way to me. I did the “Way Back Time Machine” DS106 assignment last section and it was pretty sweet to see the completely different style and tech that was used now and back in the day. Starting from everything practically being text, and now everything has some sort of dhtml script, html5, flash, or quicktime running. If you don’t know what those are, those are the things that change actions without having to load a new screen. Not to mention the ability to be able to multi task certain things, look up anything you could have ever imagine in the blink of and eye, download your favorite CD off itunes, watch a video on youtube from a completely different side of the planet minutes after it has just been uploaded. It’s all grown so quickly in the past 4 to 5 years very similar to how technology itself has been. It’s going to be really wicked to see where things will be soon. Heck, I’d be willing to bet that next year there’s going to be some mind blowing things.

As for what could happen to the Internet. I think the future of the internet really just has to rely on the fate of SOPA and PIPA at the moment. I’m personally not a fan of them because they are just way too powerful in my opinion. On the surface they look really good, get rid of piracy. But, after watching some videos online from lawyers not involved in the movement warning people that there are so many underlying things in the writing that it is very dangerous. I could go and list them, but there’s so many. You’d be better off going and watching this video to get better information about what SOPA and PIPA do. If these get passed, I hate to say it. But the internet will be done.

Well, that about wraps it up. Hope you enjoyed the post. And, hope the post was doing something in the right direction. Do let me know in the comments though!

– Shinya Out.

